Owkin
FR>$1B
Biotech · 2021-11
Owkin is building MOSAIC, a $50m spatial-omics atlas of 7,000 tumour samples it says is a hundred times larger than any previous dataset of its kind, and its unicorn valuation still dates from Sanofi's 2021 cheque.
The rest of this ledger records transactions. This part records results, which need a different rule.
Everywhere else, a figure cites the outlet that reported it. Here a claim cites its paper: the link goes to the preprint, the journal or the agency release rather than the coverage of it, because coverage is a weaker source than the thing it covers. A result whose only source is a science-news aggregator is left out. Failed replications, retractions and disputed claims are in; a record that carries only triumphs is a worse record.
Sep 22
2 items
Hubble's TEMPOS survey took ultraviolet spectra of 29 massive O stars across six dwarf galaxies below one-fifth solar metallicity and found wind speeds dropping far below predicted trends once metallicity falls under about 10% of solar.
LHAASO and China's Einstein Probe traced a 42-light-year X-ray tail behind the pulsar PSR J1740+1000, roughly 4,600 light-years away, aligned with an ultra-high-energy gamma-ray source that had no confirmed counterpart.
Sep 9
1 items
A JWST stellar occultation found Chariklo's inner ring about 50% more opaque and its outer ring about 60% less opaque than in 2017, the first evidence that rings around a small solar system body shift over a few years.
Sep 4
1 items
Leiden Observatory astronomers report ALMA detections of carbon monoxide gas gaps and non-Keplerian kinematics in the WISPIT 2 disk sitting exactly where two protoplanets were already imaged, in a preprint resubmitted to Nature Astronomy and not yet peer reviewed.
Sep 23
2 items
GRAIL's Galleri blood test returned a 0.54% cancer detection rate, 60.3% positive predictive value and 39.3% episode sensitivity across all cancers in 32,007 screened adults over 50, and the authors state that randomized trials are still needed to show the test changes outcomes.
The PsychAD Consortium published a single-nucleus atlas of 6.3 million nuclei from the dorsolateral prefrontal cortex of 1,494 donors spanning Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, Lewy body disease, vascular dementia, schizophrenia and bipolar disorder, released across nine coordinated papers.
Sep 21
1 items
In 12,000 stool samples from 887 genetically high-risk children, Mass General Brigham researchers found that an early-plateaued gut microbiome carried 3.21 times the risk of type 1 diabetes or the autoimmunity preceding it, an observational association that does not establish cause.
Sep 22
1 items
A 16-protein blood signature of menopause tracked with cognitive decline across four cohorts totalling 11,925 older women and carried a hazard ratio of 1.15 for incident Alzheimer's dementia among 11,059 women in the UK Biobank, with no association found for all-cause, vascular or frontotemporal dementia.
Sep 21
1 items
Stanford Medicine researchers report that the developing human brain is built from two parallel neural ectoderm progenitor populations rather than one, a developmental claim drawn from stem cell models and cross-species comparison rather than from human embryos.
Sep 16
1 items
The IMBIE consortium combined 42 independent satellite estimates and put Greenland and Antarctic ice loss at 11,309 billion tonnes between 1979 and 2023, adding 3.14 cm to sea level, with 84% of the loss coming from accelerating outlet glaciers rather than surface melt.
Sep 22
1 items
UC Santa Cruz researchers found that accelerated warming since 1970 shows up as coherent regional patterns concentrated in the Northern Hemisphere mid-latitudes, with onset dates ranging from the 1980s to the 2010s, which complicates the claim of a single global acceleration.
Sep 23
1 items
Arizona State University and collaborators made two previously unreported cerium(III) oxyphosphates, Ce3PO7 and Ce7P3O18, by laser-melting synthetic monazite in a hydrogen-argon atmosphere, and have now measured their formation enthalpies by calorimetry.
Sep 20
1 items
McGill University chemists added hexaethylene phosphate chains to DNA double-crossover tiles and found that chain length alone redirects assembly into three-arm nanostars, extended four-arm networks or spherical nucleic acids, without needing more unique sequences.
Sep 16
1 items
Stanford Medicine published Paper2Agent, which converts a paper and its codebase into an MCP server that reproduces the original results and answers new queries, while noting that papers without runnable code yield resources rather than working tools.
Sep 21
1 items
Microsoft Research, with GSK and Novartis, published RetroChimera, a retrosynthesis model that ensembles a molecule-editing graph network with a de novo transformer, and released the weights and code publicly.
Sep 23
1 items
Anthropic reports that roughly 950 Claude agents spent 21 hours and 210 million tokens sifting over 200,000 reverse transcriptases and flagged a CRISPR-like repeat array beside a jumbo phage enzyme, though the enzyme itself was already known and the system's function is undetermined.
Sep 22
1 items
Elsevier's Science of the Total Environment has retracted 165 papers so far in 2026, most of them for suspicious authorship changes during revision or handling editors who had previously co-published with the authors.
Sep 4
1 items
Heredity retracted a whole-genome study of 43 leopards in South Africa's Cape Floristic Region, and the retraction notice now stands as the authoritative record for the paper.
Sep 24
1 items
A Tennessee Comptroller investigation found that a Middle Tennessee State University professor filed research misconduct allegations against a doctoral student, and asked a journal to retract her paper, after she reported him to state investigators.
Sep 23
1 items
Wiley is investigating a 2024 book chapter on restoring biodiversity in post-industrial land after an ecologist found it cited references that do not exist.
52 across 9 fields
For most of them the number that matters is not the valuation. It is the qubit count with its error rate, the trial phase, the plasma duration, the compounds actually synthesised rather than predicted.
>$1B
Biotech · 2021-11
Owkin is building MOSAIC, a $50m spatial-omics atlas of 7,000 tumour samples it says is a hundred times larger than any previous dataset of its kind, and its unicorn valuation still dates from Sanofi's 2021 cheque.
~$225M
raised · Biotech
bit.bio cut around a quarter of its staff in 2025, wound down its own cell therapy programmes and raised a $50m Series C led by M&G in January 2026 as a supplier of defined human cells rather than a drug developer.
€223.7M (H1 2026)
Biotech · 2026-06
BioNTech has 14 pivotal oncology trials running and €16.6bn in the bank, and made €105.6m of revenue in the second quarter of 2026, a company living entirely off the Covid windfall while it tries to become a cancer business.
>$142M
raised · Biotech
EvolutionaryScale used ESM3, trained on 2.78 billion proteins, to generate esmGFP: a fluorescent protein far enough from any natural one that the team estimated it would take 500 million years of evolution to arrive at, published in Science.
>$100M
raised · Biotech
Aqemia designs small molecules with a statistical-mechanics engine borrowed from quantum physics rather than a trained-on-known-drugs model, and Sanofi expanded their $140m collaboration in July 2026, but Aqemia has no molecule in a human trial.
>$100M
raised · Biotech
Cradle sells protein engineering as software rather than a drug pipeline, and says customer programmes run 1.2 to 12 times faster with costs down as much as 90%, its own measurement, taken across partner labs.
$50M
raised · Biotech
Latent Labs shipped Latent-X five months after coming out of stealth with $50m: an all-atom protein binder model its founder says reaches 91-100% laboratory hit rates on macrocycles, against well under 1% for conventional screening.
$7.7M (Q2 2026)
Biotech · 2026-06
Recursion has been industrialising cell-image biology since 2013 and its most advanced medicine, REC-4881, is still a Phase 1b/2 in an orphan bowel condition whose registrational path it was only discussing with the FDA in 2026.
10B+ in BaseData
novel genes · Biotech · 2026
Basecamp Research has catalogued over 10 billion genes from more than a million species nobody had sequenced, and trained EDEN (a foundation model on 9.7 trillion biological tokens) that designed gene-insertion enzymes clearing over 90% of tumour cells in a dish.
~$1.25B
acquisition value · Biotech · 2025-06
CureVac (the Tübingen company that pioneered mRNA as a medicine in 2000 and then lost the Covid vaccine race) was bought by BioNTech in an all-stock deal worth about $1.25bn and delisted from Nasdaq on 16 January 2026.
not disclosed
Biotech
Nuclera built a benchtop machine that screens and prints purified proteins in about 24 hours, and extended its Series C to $87m in January 2026 to add full antibody expression and binding validation.
$15.5B
Fusion · 2026-06
Helion Energy ran its Polaris prototype at 150 million °C in January 2026, the first privately funded machine to do bulk deuterium-tritium fusion, and is building Orion in Malaga, Washington to sell Microsoft power from 2028.
$4B
raised · Fusion
Commonwealth Fusion Systems is finishing assembly of SPARC in Devens, Massachusetts, and says the machine will cross Q>1 in 2027, the first tokamak to get more energy out of the plasma than went into it.
€2.4B
Fusion · 2026-07
Proxima Fusion raised €411M in July 2026 at a €2.4bn valuation, making the Max Planck spin-out Europe's best-funded fusion company as it builds the model coil for a quasi-isodynamic stellarator.
€385M
raised · Fusion · 2025-03
Marvel Fusion has raised €385M in private and public money for a laser fast-ignition approach, and in July 2026 was picked with Focused Energy to lead the German government's Laser Fusion Hub.
$335M
raised · Fusion
Tokamak Energy's Demo4 magnet system hit 11.8 tesla in November 2025 (the first complete high-temperature superconducting magnet set to reach fusion-power-plant field strengths) and its ST40 tokamak then pushed to 1 MA of plasma current.
1.8 (FLARE concept, independently validated)
tritium breeding ratio · Fusion · 2026-02
First Light Fusion abandoned its own fusion power plant in March 2025, cancelling the Machine 4 ignition demonstrator to sell its pressure-amplifier targets to other inertial fusion companies instead.
160+ from over 20 nations
headcount · Fusion · 2026-05
Focused Energy raised a $240M Series A in May 2026 led by RWE (the largest fully secured Series A in fusion) to build the world's first laser fusion power plant on the site of RWE's decommissioned Biblis nuclear station.
Net facility gain targeted 2030
net facility gain · Fusion · 2026-07
Pacific Fusion is building the world's largest high-gain fusion facility in Albuquerque, designed to produce fusion bursts above 100 megajoules and reach net facility gain by 2030.
Da Vinci producing fusion power in 2031 (target)
first fusion power · Fusion · 2026-08
TAE Technologies agreed in December 2025 to merge with Trump Media and Technology Group in an all-stock deal valued at more than $6bn, and says its first commercial-scale plant, Da Vinci, will produce fusion power in 2031.
$7B
Quantum computing · 2025-09
PsiQuantum is building million-qubit photonic quantum computers in two purpose-built halls (Moreton Bay near Brisbane and Chicago's Illinois Quantum and Microelectronics Park) with its Omega chips fabricated on a standard GlobalFoundries line.
$2.0B pre-money (announced SPAC terms)
Quantum computing · 2026-03
Pasqal is going public on Nasdaq as PSQL through a $2.0bn business combination with Bleichroeder Acquisition Corp. II, with shareholders due to vote on 25 August 2026.
$80.1M (Q2 2026)
Quantum computing · 2026-06
IonQ booked $80.1M of revenue in Q2 2026, up 287% year on year, and closed its acquisition of SkyWater Technology in July to bring US semiconductor fabrication for its quantum chips in-house.
as few as 18 cat qubits per logical qubit (Helium)
physical qubits per logical qubit · Quantum computing · 2026-06
Alice & Bob unveiled its Helium system in June 2026, engineered to encode a logical qubit from as few as 18 cat qubits, an overhead an order of magnitude below the hundreds of physical qubits conventional architectures need.
54 (IQM Emerald)
qubits · Quantum computing · 2025-08
IQM Quantum Computers began trading on Nasdaq on 2 July 2026, the first European quantum computing company on a major US exchange, with a 54-qubit processor running at 99.5% median two-qubit gate fidelity.
500+ per three-inch die (packaging architecture)
qubits · Quantum computing · 2026-02
Oxford Quantum Circuits raised £260M in June 2026 (Europe's largest private quantum round) after demonstrating a wafer-scale packaging architecture that fits more than 500 superconducting qubits on a single three-inch die.
98 fully connected physical qubits (Helios)
qubits · Quantum computing · 2026
Quantinuum's Helios runs 98 fully connected trapped-ion qubits at 99.921% two-qubit gate fidelity (encoded down to 50 logical qubits) and the company listed on Nasdaq in June 2026 raising $1.68bn at $60 a share.
not disclosed
Quantum computing
Quantum Motion raised a $160M Series C in May 2026 to build quantum computers out of ordinary silicon transistors on a GlobalFoundries CMOS line, arguing the approach cuts cost and footprint 100-fold and energy use 1,000-fold.
256 physical qubits (Aquila, live on Amazon Braket)
qubits · Quantum computing · 2026-06
QuEra Computing has promised AWS a machine called Libra by 2028 with more than 256 error-corrected logical qubits at a 10⁻⁶ logical error rate, built from 10,000-15,000 physical neutral atoms.
€10B+
Space · 2026-06
ICEYE crossed €250m of revenue and €100m of EBITDA in 2025 and raised over €1bn in June 2026 at a valuation above €10bn, one of the few European space companies that is properly profitable.
~€800M
raised · Space · 2026-06
Isar Aerospace raised a €270m Series D in June 2026 alongside a 15-21 June launch window for Spectrum's second flight, which had still not flown by August after at least five scrubbed attempts.
$307.7M
Space · 2026-01
Planet Labs hit record annual revenue of $307.7m in the year to January 2026 and its first full year of positive free cash flow, with nine high-resolution Pelican satellites on orbit.
$200.3M (Q1 2026)
Space · 2026-03
Rocket Lab posted record quarterly revenue above $200m and a $2.2bn backlog in Q1 2026, and sold more launches in that one quarter than in all of 2025, while Neutron still has not flown.
$57M
raised · Space · 2023-09
Open Cosmos launched Posidonia, the first satellite of the Balearic Islands, in July 2026, and put the first two satellites of its own Ka-band constellation up on a Rocket Lab Electron in January.
22 commercial ION missions
ion missions · Space · 2026-03
D-Orbit has flown 22 commercial ION Satellite Carrier missions, delivering 137 satellites and hosting 77 payloads, and closed a first $128m tranche of Series D in January 2026.
450+
headcount · Space · 2026
The Exploration Company raised a $450M Series C in September 2026, the largest announced by a European space company, a year after losing its Mission Possible capsule before splashdown, with Nyx's first flight not due until 2028.
~$9B pre-money
Neurotechnology · 2025-06
Neuralink had 21 people enrolled with its N1 implant by January 2026, up from three at the end of 2024, with no serious device-related adverse events reported, and nothing it makes approved for sale anywhere.
$345M
raised · Neurotechnology
Synchron reaches the brain through a blood vessel instead of a craniotomy, has implanted ten people across trials in the US and Australia, and raised $200M in November 2025 to fund the pivotal study it still has to run.
$180M
raised · Neurotechnology
Precision Neuroscience has laid its 1,024-electrode Layer 7 array on the brains of almost 100 people: every one of them temporarily, during surgery they were already having, because its FDA clearance runs to 30 days.
$68M
raised · Neurotechnology
INBRAIN Neuroelectronics put the first graphene electrode array on a human brain in September 2024 and finished enrolling that study in April 2026: a safety and signal-quality trial run during tumour surgery, not a therapy.
1 long-term
patients implanted · Neurotechnology · 2026-06
Paradromics implanted its 421-electrode Connexus device in its first trial participant in June 2026, eleven years after it was founded and a year after an acute, minutes-long test that had already been reported as first-in-human.
CHF 1,232,149,900
latest fund · Research institution · 2026
CERN runs the Large Hadron Collider on CHF 1.23bn of member-state contributions for 2026, with about 2,500 staff serving more than 12,200 visiting scientists.
£132.5M
latest fund · Research institution · 2025
Wellcome Sanger Institute ran on £180.3m of income in the year to September 2025, 80% of it a single core grant from Wellcome, and spent £183.5m, a deficit of £3.1m.
€358M
budget · Research institution · 2025
EMBL spent €358m in 2025 across six European sites and 1,990 full-time-equivalent staff, and its Hinxton institute co-runs the AlphaFold Database with Google DeepMind.
€2.2B
budget · Research institution · 2025
Max Planck Society spent slightly more than €2.2bn in 2025 across 85 institutes employing about 26,700 people, making it the largest basic-research organisation in Europe.
$1.3B
AI for science · 2025-09
Periodic Labs raised a $300M seed (one of the largest ever) to build AI scientists and the autonomous powder-synthesis labs they run, and has published no discovered material yet.
$550M
raised · AI for science · 2025-10
Lila Sciences has raised $550m to build "AI Science Factories" and claims hundreds of validated antibodies and a non-platinum-group hydrogen catalyst, none of it published in a peer-reviewed journal.
79.4% of conclusions accurate
kosmos accuracy · AI for science · 2025-11
FutureHouse is a philanthropically funded non-profit whose Robin agent picked ripasudil as a candidate for dry macular degeneration and got the wet-lab validation published in Nature in May 2026.
$3.1B
Longevity · 2026-06
NewLimit raised $435M at a $3.1bn valuation in June 2026 on the strength of a preclinical liver candidate that made old human hepatocytes behave young in mice; its first human trial is planned for 2027.
$1.8B pre-money
Longevity · 2026-05
Retro Biosciences dosed the first humans with RTR242, an oral drug meant to restart autophagy, in December 2025: a Phase 1 safety study in Australia, and the only ageing-biology programme from the Altman-funded cohort to reach the clinic.
$200M+
raised · Materials · 2025
Sublime Systems lost its $87m Department of Energy award to Trump-administration cancellations in June 2025, and nearly ten months of internal dispute had not reversed it.
not disclosed
Materials
Orbital Industries (formerly Orbital Materials) raised a $50m Series B led by Plural in May 2026 for a PFAS-free GPU cooling fluid, having pivoted from AI-discovered carbon capture to data-centre hardware.